Eternal Home of Ed Hauser, on REALNEO

Submitted by Norm Roulet on November 26, 2008 - 10:59am.

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

Ed's Papers

  Susan--any word on the status of cataloging Ed's papers?  Has CSU committed to archiving the collection?

CSU and Ed Hauser

  Hi Susan...I heard today that CSU will take on Ed's collection.  Any more to add to this story? :)  Some good news for a Friday.  Yes ?!

yes CSU Special Collections

I took Bill Barrow to meet with Sylvia several weeks ago on a snowy Sunday afternoon. The family will go through the materials and then contact Barrow to turn over the materials for archiving as I understand it. Barrow also indicated that they would welcome volunteers to help with scanning the materials to make them available digitally. As you might imagine the volume of public records and Ed's own notes is vast.

Making IT happen

  Thank you Susan for making this really happen. 

Ed Hauser WAY

On Friday 3.20.09 Cleveland Planning Will consider the naming of Whiskey Island Way to Ed Hauser Way. The meeting begins at 9am

jon eckerle

spammer?

 

Yes - fahim@xplorebangladesh.net

Don't you love globalization - it is worth somebody paying Fahim in Bangladesh to screw up REALNEO. That's our New Economy at work.

Disrupt IT

Who was "hacked by 1923Turk-Grup"

 

I checked out www.xplorebangladesh.com - the URL for the email address for several spammers on REALNEO - you saw their homepage was a promotion for "Hacked by 1923Turk-Grup", which is not explained there or anywhere on-line I can find... although they seem to have "hacked" many sites and have many promo videos on YouTube, etc.

They've tried to break REALNEO several ways I know of, so far.

So, we are being hacked by 1923Turk-Grup.

Disrupt IT

spam problems

Is some of this to be expected or is realneo a target? Since spam has become such a part of everything else, I wasn't surprised to see it here. I do think that being able to embed a code that changes formats to be a problem. Is that common with spam?

Spammer hacking CSS

 

Realneo has been hacked over the last week at least three times that I know of by this spammer.   The first hack was of a post put up last year by lmcshane regarding Brian Cummins .   The hack made the CSS scramble the Cummins post so the post was down the page from the more recent comments - in other words - the hacker made the post turn upside down.  
 
Jeff Schuler straightened the Cummins CSS out but the same CSS scramble has now happened two more times.  
 
There was the dog spam link (<p>- <a href="http://www.hobbybreeders.com">dog breeders</a> -</p>) and cat spam link also hacked the CSS in the same way as the Cummins post.   Now there is the same spam at this link on Realneo “is it fungus or mushroom” with the feline4us url in the right hand margin.   
 
Jeff S, how does the new – non administrative – hacker/user get at the CSS code or insert code which re-arranges the Drupal CSS?
 
 
AS TO MOTIVE
 
I don’t believe there is anything more sinister about this hacking than someone (in India or where ever) who has been hired by the Felines4us.com (and the dogs for sale site) to install parasite spam links in whatever web sites they can place the spam in – Realneo is an easy target because of Realneo’s open and immediate user sign up policy.
 
Below is the Domain information about the registrant for felines4us.com and hobbybreeders.com Both are registered to Sal Salman and Cane Design in Florida.   If you look at the sites you can see they have lots of google ads at the top and bottom.   Many people like cats and dogs.   I think these are bogus sites – not of a cat or dog lover entrepreneur, but of a web savvy person who picked a dog and cat url to drag clicks to the advertisers on the site.  I would stay wide away from these "dog" and “feline” web sites –
 
  They are both bogus.
_______________________________________________________________________________
AS TO RECOURSE AGAINST CANE DESIGN AND/OR SAL SALMAN
It would be reasonably possible to file suit against both these entities in Florida, prove they contracted with someone (in India or wherever) to insert spam dog and cat links into Realneo, and recover 2 or 3 thousand in actual damages.   On top of the actual damages I would think you could convince a court to award to or three times actual damages as punitive damages.  This gets close to $10,000.00.   

 

Who knows an attorney licensed in Florida?

 

 
 
 
Registrant:
CaneDesign Corporation

2030 Douglas Road Suite 208
Miami, Florida 33134
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: FELINES4US.COM
Created on: 11-Jul-08
Expires on: 11-Jul-10
Last Updated on: 13-Jul-09

Administrative Contact:
Salman, Sal salman [at] canedesign [dot] com
CaneDesign Corporation
2030 Douglas Road Suite 208
Miami, Florida 33134
United States
(305) 298-1323

Technical Contact:
Salman, Sal salman [at] canedesign [dot] com
CaneDesign Corporation
2030 Douglas Road Suite 208
Miami, Florida 33134
United States
(305) 298-1323

Domain servers in listed order:
NS49.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
NS50.DOMAINCONTROL.COM

 
HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
Hobbybreeders.com is a url also registered to Cane Design and Sal Salman
Registrant:
CaneDesign Corporation

2030 Douglas Road Suite 208
Miami, Florida 33134
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: HOBBYBREEDERS.COM
Created on: 14-Apr-09
Expires on: 14-Apr-10
Last Updated on: 14-Apr-09

Administrative Contact:
Salman, Sal salman [at] canedesign [dot] com
CaneDesign Corporation
2030 Douglas Road Suite 208
Miami, Florida 33134
United States
(305) 298-1323

Technical Contact:
Salman, Sal salman [at] canedesign [dot] com
CaneDesign Corporation
2030 Douglas Road Suite 208
Miami, Florida 33134
United States
(305) 298-1323

Domain servers in listed order:
NS53.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
NS54.DOMAINCONTROL.COM

 
 

 

spam

I agree this hacking is probably not a conspiracy. This is why there is so much anti-hacking, anti-spam, anti-spyware software for sale. I do wonder what, if any, problems, realneo members would have as a result of this hacking for our own computers, especially Windows user. How open is open when the site is being used by members? Experts, please address if you can.